There’s Nothing Finer

A few years ago, my sister gave me a t-shirt that says “Christmas in Carolina…There’s Nothing Finer”.   While I am in agreement that spending Christmas in Carolina is a wonderful thing; for that is where our family is, I will beg to differ on the “there’s nothing finer” part. 
 
You see, for me, the finer thing is that I spend Christmas celebrating the birth of my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.   Admittedly, I enjoy shopping for the perfect gift, wrapping, baking, decorating, and singing carols, watching Christmas movies, visiting with family and friends, and the excitement that my kids have building up to Christmas morning.  But more than those things, I enjoy focusing on my Lord during this season.
 
As I read Luke 1 & 2 multiple times this month, I was drawn to think of Mary.  I remember the anticipation, excitement and fear that overcame me when I found out that we were expecting our first child.  She must have had some of those same feelings.  It is often speculated what Mary must have thought or felt when the angel appeared to her.  Luke 1:29 tells us that she was “… greatly troubled at his words…” It tells us that the angel told her not to be afraid, then he explained to her that she would be the mother of God’s son.  I love her response in Luke 1:38 – “I am the Lord’s servant,” Mary answered. “May it be to me as you have said.”
 
I am also drawn to think of that night when Jesus left the glory of Heaven and came to a manger; as a baby… for me… for you!  The shepherds were keeping watch over their flocks and the angels appeared to them and announced the good news.  What did they do?  They immediately went to see the baby.
 
As I celebrate Christmas with family this year and as we go into 2012, my prayer is that I would say to the Lord “I am Your servant….may Your will be done in my life”.  And that in all things and at all times, I would immediately go to Him.
 
As you and your family celebrate Christmas, whether in SC or somewhere else, I pray that you would choose the “finer” of things to dwell on.
 
Merry Christmas!!!
Robin
Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

