Watching the sun rise!

I was in the car driving at 5:30 AM this morning.  It was doing that miserable heavy drizzle thing when I left my sister’s house.  I admit that I was mumbling..ok, I was complaining…. to myself how I didn’t like driving in the dark or the rain!   About an hour into my drive, I noticed a crisp white line across the sky.  As I drove, the sky began to change from black, to a purplish gray, to pink, to orange, to sky blue. That white line became clusters of beautiful clouds.   By the time I exited for a Chick-fil-A biscuit, the sky was glorious.  
 
When we lived in KY and I worked full-time, I was up at 5:30 AM Monday thru Friday but I never saw the sun rise because I was preparing for my day.  I’ve always had the opinion that if God wanted me to see the sun rise, He would let it come up later!  I just like to sleep in!!   But as I drove, watching the sky change from color to color, I realized that I miss a lot by not rising early.  I strive to have time with my Lord every day but often feel rushed because I sleep too long.  I need to get back in the habit of rising earlier than what has become my normal and spend time with Him.  I might just get to hear the first morning chirps of the birds or see the sun rising for a new day.   And I am sure that my quiet time with Him would be like the sun rising in my heart every morning when it’s my first priority.
 
I pray that you too would rise early and watch the sun rise!
 
Blessings!
Robin

 

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

