Homeschool Mother’s Journal – Post 3

The Homeschool Mother's Journal
 
   The Homeschool Mother’s Journal
 
  In my life this week…
  I mentioned last week that my mom, better known as Nana, was coming to visit.  She came to stay with the     kids so that Kevin and I could attend the Annual Meeting of the SC Baptist Convention.  I am so thankful that my mom is able to come and stay with the kids to enable us to be able to go on this trip.  They really enjoyed her being here and we enjoyed our time away.   We were able to see a few old friends, experience awesome times of worship and hear several great sermons.  We returned home on Wednesday just in time for mid-week service at church.  Thursday, we overslept and I was reminded that that’s a perk of homeschooling.  If you oversleep, you start school late.   
 
In our homeschool this week…
I am happy to report that my son’s egg drop contraption worked.  He dropped it 6 times and the egg only broke once.  We call that success.
 
We are continuing to take time each morning to reflect on what we are thankful for.  A few of the things on our list are: family, our salvation, God’s word, people who live out their faith, God’s details in creation….. The list goes on.  This is the highlight of my day right now.
 
Things I’m working on…
I am getting ready to work on Christmas cards.  I am going to make some and use some that are store-bought.  Maybe next year I can start really early and make them all.
 
I’m cooking…
Not much cooking this week since Kevin and I were gone.  This will change next week as I will be baking for Thanksgiving.
 
I’m grateful for…
Both of my kids having a personal relationship with the Lord.  They are growing in their relationships and I just love watching  what God is doing in their lives and what He is teaching them.
 
I’m praying for…
Friends and our own family as we enter the holiday season.  It’s the time of year for celebration and also the time when we seem to miss those who have passed away the most.  Our family has several relatives and friends that we miss greatly as they were such precious parts of our lives.  I also have a few friends that this will be the first holiday without someone special to them. 
 
A photo, video, link, or quote to share…
This is a video of one of the musicians that played for the attendees at the convention Kevin and I went to this week.  He is very talented. His name is Rodrigo Rodriguez.    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mb50CIZEBmk
Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

