Homeschool Mother’s Journal – Post 1

The Homeschool Mother's Journal
This is my first post to The Homeschool Mother’s Journal.  I hope to be able to  journal frequently in order to share our homeschooling journey.  So here goes…
 
In my life this week…
We moved to SC in July so there are still boxes to unpack and pictures to hang.  After sleeping in a bit this morning, we tackled a few boxes and my sweet husband hung several of the pictures that needed to go up.  I am so excited to have things on the walls!   Little by little we are settling in and truly making our house a home.   
 
In our homeschool this week…
In our study of Middle Ages we have learned about Justinian, the Emperor of the Byzantine Empire, and his wife, Theodora.  One of the things he did during his reign was to rebuild the Hagia Sohpia after the riots in Constantinople.  He built it bigger and more beautiful than before it was burned.  The rebuilt church was decorated with paintings and mosaics.  To understand mosaics better, we made our own from pieces of tissue paper.  We have a Bald Eagle and a Peacock as the end result.  
 
Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…
The kids are taking Square Dancing lessons with some friends at our church.  This week, I tagged along and even danced.  It was a lot of fun.  I may have to go again sometime….
 
My favorite thing this week was…
Stopping along the roadside and photographing cotton fields ready for harvest.  We’re new to the “land of cotton” so seeing a cotton field in full bloom is a new and amazing sight. 
 
Questions/thoughts I have…
I often wonder if I am doing this home school thing right.  Are my kids learning enough or the right thing?  Do we spend enough time on each subject?  Do we read the right books?  Did I select the right curriculum for our first year of homeschooling?  The list of questions is endless right now.  I am sure, or at least I hope, that I am not the first to ask these questions.
 
Things I’m working on…
I am studying The Principle Approach to train myself in its methods in order to make a decision if I want to use The Noah Plan Curriculum next year.  This will be a process for me that I may share along the way.  I have also begun to make handmade cards and am having a lot of fun doing so.
 
I’m reading…
Radical by David Platt 
 
I’m grateful for…
My Heavenly Father not giving up on me.  I often tend to be a slow learner on many things and yet He continues to beckon me to Him and to pour out His grace and mercy on me.
 
I’m praying for…
The mother of a dear friend.  She (the mom) has recently been diagnosed with cancer.  I consider it an honor and a privilege to be able to go to the throne of grace on behalf of others.
 
 
4 thoughts on “Homeschool Mother’s Journal – Post 1

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

