Welcome to Living My Portion!

Living My Portion may seem an odd name to some so I’d like to share with you how it came to be.   First, I should clarify that I am not a writer.  I have, secretly, always wanted to write something.  But at this particular time in my life, a book just seems like a HUGE aspiration!  I have been greatly encouraged by many blogs so, I decided that for now, this will be my outlet for writing. 

Now I’d like to share how I came up with the name.  In doing so, I should share a little about me.  I am mom to two wonderful kids, wife to the most wonderful man I know, and most importantly, a follower of Jesus Christ.    My husband is a full-time Children’s Pastor so that throws a bit of a twist into my role of being a wife.  This is a blessed twist but a twist none the less!  Our journey into ministry is the road on which I began to learn how to “live my portion”.  Our years in Seminary taught me a lot about being content and I still have so much to learn.   The name of my little corner was chosen because of a realization that I came to that my “portion” is from the Lord.  That probably seems like basic stuff for any follower of Christ….I’m a slower learner!!! 

Living my portion became a theme for me a few years back when I was reading a book that talked of the time in the book of Matthew that Jesus was in the garden and prayed “if it is not possible for this cup to be taken away unless I drink it, may your will be done.”   Through the wise words of the author, I realized that if Jesus was content with “the cup” the Father put before Him, then I should also take the “cup” or “portion” that He has for me; I should be content in all things.   The Bible is clear that the Lord has our days planned.    Psalm 16:5-6 says, “Lord, you have assigned me my portion and my cup; you have made my lot secure. The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; surely I have a delightful inheritance.”  In Lamentations 3:24 we read “”The LORD is my portion,” says my soul, “Therefore I have hope in Him.”

My “portion” has been chosen by my Father in Heaven.  I am to be content in the journey.  It is a journey that I’d like to invite you to join me on.  Because I am an ordinary girl, the journey may not always be fun and exciting but God promises me that it will be victorious.

Thank you for joining me and May the Lord Bless you!

Robin

4 thoughts on “Welcome to Living My Portion!

  1. What a wonderful thought – “my portion.” I will enjoy following your blog and your journey. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me.

    Like

  2. I love this, and I can’t wait to keep up with you on your blog. I hate that I’ve missed so much of your life as time and distance has separated us… I love your pictures, your text, your wallpaper – all of it is so “YOU”.

    Like

  3. Pingback: L is for…….. « Living My Portion

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

